challenge started!

3 Jan

So far, so good. The Get Your Words Out 2010 challenge has begun, and already I’ve been doing well with the writing.  I guess the good part about doing the single project pledge at 100k words means I can really focus on scenes and little things, which is where I tend to struggle. I “only” have to write 274 words per day, but it’s rare when I merely write that. It’s really the point of sticking to one project (In The Spotlight).

On the other hand, I think this week I am really going to work on character sketches for Ava, Ryan, Lily, and Nathan. they are a pretty integral part of the story, and somehow I have to connect all their stories. Ava and Ryana re the focs, of course, but Lily has her little subplot and Nathan has his as well…and they all have to tie together, because Ryan and Ava’s story is the focus of the entire plot, with Ryan’s troubles with Adam and the impact of those troubles on his still rather new career.  And Lily deals with the critical acclaim she’s always wanted, and the focus that comes with it. Ava deals with Lily and with Ryan’s troubles, and then discovers her best friend (Nathan) has a troubled life of his own that he’s never revealed.

Although, the more I think about it, the more I could spin Nathan off into his own story…hmm.

I also have to get the story to a point where Ava does get her own record label, after everyone realizes she needs to be running musical careers, just not one the road all the time. This is after she organizes the benefit concert that goes off perfectly.

Lots to think about, but first, character sketches so I can get a handle on who they are and where they need to go in the story!

One Response to “challenge started!”

  1. uninvoked January 3, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    You can do it! *waves pompoms* Go Go Go!

Leave a Reply

