new thoughts

21 Feb

I’m beginning to wonder if there’s some elements of my story that I just need to scrap. And maybe scrap isn’t the word I am looking for…maybe put on the back burner is more what I had in mind. I’m afraid that a small side story is detracting from the original plot. And that scares me, because I am beginning to wonder if my plot really is as strong as I once thought it was.

I admit to slacking off a bit more this month with this project, however, work tends to rule my life…which my mother says needs to stop. And that I need to get out more…haha. Which I admit to being true, I can’t even lie! On the other hand, I’ve been dealing with a bout of food poisoning the past four days or so, so my mind had been on keeping upright and at work, rather than my writing. It’s such a cop out, but hey.

At the same time, I am already looking ahead to March and to what my plan is on the writing front. I think I am going to sit down and make a list of firm scenes that I need to focus on during the coming months.  This is what I vow to do. I need a plan and I need to follow said plan. Especially when it comes to sticking to one project. Mind you, it is one that I absolutely love, but I still have to completely wrap my brain around all the elements that go into this whole thing. I think I underestimated the work just a tad.  Well, maybe not underestimated, but didn’t count on the distractions that sticking to ITS would bring me. I was fine last year, when I would write whatever I wanted to. I wrote fics for a couple of fandoms and still puttered on Spotlight. Now…not so much. Eep.

I can do this. Just keep swimming. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

